## BOROUGH OF RUSHMOOR

**EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE BOROUGH COUNCIL** held at the Council Offices, Farnborough on Wednesday, 27th January, 2016 at 7.00 p.m.

THE WORSHIPFUL THE MAYOR (CR. M.J. TENNANT, B.Sc.)
THE DEPUTY MAYOR (CR. JACQUI VOSPER)

a CR. MRS. D.B. BEDFORD

CR. D.M.T. BELL

CR. T.D. BRIDGEMAN, B.A. (Hons.)

CR. SUE CARTER

CR. M.S. CHOUDHARY, B.A., M.A.

CR. SOPHIA CHOUDHARY, L.L.B.

CR. D.E. CLIFFORD, M.P.A., M.C.M.I.

CR. R. COOPER

CR. LIZ CORPS, N.N.D., A.T.D.

CR. A.H. CRAWFORD, J.P., B.Sc.,

A.R.C.S., Dip.Man. (Open).

CR. P.I.C. CRERAR, B.A. (Hons.), M.Arch., M.A.

CR. K. DIBBLE, M.A.F.M., B.I.F.M.

CR. SUE DIBBLE

CR. R.L.G. DIBBS

CR. JENNIFER M. EVANS, B.Sc.,

M.Sc.

CR. A.M. FERRIER

CR. D.S. GLADSTONE

CR. C.P. GRATTAN

CR. R. HUGHES

CR. BARBARA J. HURST, B.A., M.A.

CR. A. JACKMAN, B.Sc.

CR. B. JONES, M.Sc., A.R.C.S.,

M.N.E.I.M.M.E., C.Eng., M.I.E.T.,

M.B.C.S., C.I.T.P.

CR. G.B. LYON, B.A. (Oxon)

CR. J.H. MARSH, C.Eng., M.I.Mech.E.

CR. S.J. MASTERSON

CR. P.J. MOYLE

CR. K.H. MUSCHAMP

CR. A.R. NEWELL

CR. J.J. PREECE

CR. M.J. ROBERTS, B.Sc., F.R.S.A.

CR. P.F. RUST, A.I.M.E.E., M.I.S.M.

CR. M.D. SMITH

a CR. M. STAPLEHURST

CR. L.A. TAYLOR

CR. P.G. TAYLOR, A.C.I.B.

CR. B.A. THOMAS

CR. D.M. WELCH

Honorary Alderman C. Balchin J.P. a Honorary Alderman R.J. Debenham, M.B.E. Honorary Alderman R.J. Kimber a Honorary Alderman G.J. Woolger

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Crs. Mrs. D.B. Bedford and M. Staplehurst.

Before the meeting was opened, the Mayor's Chaplain, the Reverend Steve Stewart, led the meeting in Prayers.

## 35. COUNCIL TAX SUPPORT SCHEME 2016/17 -

The Cabinet Member for Concessions and Community Support (Cr. A. Jackman) introduced the Report of the Cabinet meeting held on 12th January, 2016 which recommended approval of changes to the Council Tax Support Scheme for adoption with effect from 1st April, 2016. It was MOVED by Cr. A. Jackman; SECONDED by Cr. P.J. Moyle - That the following changes to the Council Tax Support Scheme for working age claimants be agreed for adoption with effect from 1st April, 2016:

- (a) increase the minimum Council Tax contribution payable from 8% to 10%
- (b) remove the Family Premium for new claimants
- (c) reduce the maximum savings threshold at which Council Tax Support can be claimed from £16,000 to £6,000
- (d) limit support at the Band D level for those living in properties banded higher than Band D
- (e) reduce the limit for backdated claims to four weeks.

During discussion, Cr. A.H. Crawford referred to a report he had prepared which had been circulated to all Members, which set out his concerns regarding the basis of the Cabinet's decision to make the Recommendations before the Council in respect of the Council Tax Support Scheme. In particular, Cr. Crawford referred to the consultation exercise, the extra cost implications to households, the case studies submitted by Rushmoor Citizens' Advice Bureau in its response to the consultation and his view that not all comments appeared to have been considered by the Cabinet on the increase in hardship and poverty associated with the rise to 10%.

In the light of these concerns, it was MOVED by Cr. A.H. Crawford and SECONDED by Cr. K. Dibble that the Recommendations be amended as follows:

- (i) replace (a) with "To maintain the minimum Council Tax contribution payable at 8%";
- (ii) delete (b); and
- (iii) add to (c) "with a taper to mitigate the effect".

During a debate on the proposed amendment, the view was expressed that the recommendations proposed in the Cabinet Report would most affect those who could least afford it and that a tapering of the maximum savings threshold would be fairer to those affected by that particular proposed change. Comments were also made about the difficult decisions to be made in the current economic climate and the fact that the most vulnerable who would be affected would be helped by the appeals system and the Hardship Fund.

On a recorded vote on the Amendment there voted FOR: Crs. T.D. Bridgeman, A.H. Crawford, K. Dibble, Sue Dibble, Jennifer M. Evans, C.P. Grattan, R. Hughes, B. Jones, J.J. Preece, M.J. Roberts, P.F. Rust, L.A. Taylor (12); AGAINST: Crs. D.M.T. Bell, Sue Carter, M.S. Choudhary, Sophia Choudhary, D.E. Clifford, R. Cooper, Liz Corps, P.I.C. Crerar, R.L.G. Dibbs, A.M. Ferrier, D.S. Gladstone, Barbara Hurst, A.M. Jackman, G.B. Lyon, J.H. Marsh, S.J. Masterson, P.J. Moyle, K.H. Muschamp, A.R. Newell, M.D. Smith, P.G. Taylor, B.A. Thomas and D.M. Welch (23); ABSTAINED: The Mayor (Cr. M.J. Tennant) and Deputy Mayor (Cr. Jacqui Vosper) (2) and the Amendment was **DECLARED LOST**.

Following further debate, the Recommendations were put to the Meeting. On a recorded vote, there voted FOR: Crs. D.M.T. Bell, Sue Carter, M.S. Choudhary, Sophia Choudhary, D.E. Clifford, R. Cooper, P.I.C. Crerar, R.L.G. Dibbs, A.M. Ferrier, D.S. Gladstone, R. Hughes, Barbara Hurst, A. Jackman, G.B. Lyon, J.H. Marsh, S.J. Masterson, P.J. Moyle, K.H. Muschamp, A.R. Newell, M.D. Smith, P.G. Taylor, B.A. Thomas, D.M. Welch (23); AGAINST: Crs. T.D. Bridgeman, A.H. Crawford, K. Dibble, Sue Dibble, Jennifer Evans, C.P. Grattan, B. Jones, J.J. Preece, M.J. Roberts, P.F. Rust, L.A. Taylor (11); ABSTAINED: The Mayor (Cr. M.J. Tennant) and Deputy Mayor (Cr. Jacqui Vosper) (2) and the Recommendations were **DECLARED CARRIED**.

The Meeting closed at 8.07 p.m.

-----